A guide to Fair Housing

April 11, 2024by melissad0

It is imperative that you understand fair housing when operating rental property, so here is a brief history and guide.

Fair housing is a fundamental principle that ensures equal access to housing opportunities for all individuals, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, or disability. Understanding fair housing laws and regulations is essential for landlords, property managers, and tenants alike. In this blog, we’ll explore the history of fair housing and provide a quick reference guide for those who may not be familiar with its principles.

A Brief History of Fair Housing:

Fair housing legislation in the United States has evolved over time to address discrimination and promote equality in housing. Here’s a brief overview of key milestones:

  1. Civil Rights Act of 1866: The Civil Rights Act of 1866 was the first federal law to address housing discrimination. It granted all citizens, regardless of race or color, the same rights to own, sell, or lease property.
  2. Fair Housing Act of 1968: In response to widespread housing discrimination, Congress passed the Fair Housing Act of 1968, which prohibited discrimination in housing based on race, color, religion, or national origin. The act was later amended to include protections based on sex, familial status, and disability.
  3. Amendments and Expansions: Over the years, the Fair Housing Act has been amended and expanded to strengthen protections and address emerging issues. Amendments have included protections for people with disabilities (1988), familial status (1988), and additional enforcement mechanisms.
  4. State and Local Fair Housing Laws: Many states and localities have enacted their own fair housing laws to complement federal protections and address specific local needs. These laws may provide additional protections or enforcement mechanisms beyond those provided by federal law.
Quick Reference Guide to Fair Housing:

For those who may not be familiar with fair housing principles, here’s a quick reference guide:

  1. Protected Classes: The Fair Housing Act protects individuals from discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, and disability.
  2. Prohibited Practices: Landlords and property managers are prohibited from discriminating against tenants or prospective tenants based on any of the protected classes. This includes refusal to rent, unequal terms or conditions, and harassment.
  3. Reasonable Accommodations: Landlords are required to make reasonable accommodations for tenants with disabilities to ensure equal access to housing. This may include modifications to rental units or common areas to accommodate disabilities.
  4. Fair Housing Testing: Fair housing organizations and government agencies conduct fair housing testing to identify and address housing discrimination. Testing involves sending testers posing as prospective tenants to evaluate whether landlords are complying with fair housing laws.

Fair housing is a cornerstone of equality and opportunity in housing. By understanding the history of fair housing and familiarizing themselves with fair housing laws and principles, landlords, property managers, and tenants can promote inclusive and equitable housing practices in their communities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Promote housing opportunities for all persons regardless of race, religion, sex, marital status, ancestry, national origin, color, familial status, or disability (Government Code Section 65583(c)(5)).

San Diego Metro Office
6398 Del Cerro Blvd., Ste 8.
San Diego, CA 92120
(619) 286-7600

Skip to content